Title: Immigration Law of 1924
Author: U.S. Government
Year Published: 1924

Comprehensive Immigration Law (1924)

A Proclamation

Whereas it is provided in the act of Congress approved May 26, 1924, entitled "An act to limit the immigration of aliens into the United States, and for other purposes" that "The annual quota of any nationality shall be two per centum of the number of foreign-born individuals of such nationality resident in continental Untied States as determined by the United States Census of 1890, but the minimum quota of any nationality shall be 100 (Sec. 11 a). . . .

"The Secretary of State, the Secretary of Commerce, and the Secretary of Labor, jointly, shall, as soon as feasible after the enactment of this act, prepare a statement showing the number of individuals of the various nationalities resident in continental United States as determined by the United States Census of 1890, which statement shall be the population basis for the purposes of subdivision (a) of section 11 (Sec. 12 b).

"Such officials shall, jointly, report annually to the President the quota of each nationality under subdivision (a) of section 11, together with the statements, estimates, and revisions provided for in this section. The President shall proclaim and make known the quotas so reported". (Sec. 12 e).

Now, therefore I, Calvin Coolidge, President of the United States of America acting under and by virtue of the power in me vested by the aforesaid act of Congress, do hereby proclaim and make known that on and after July 1, 1924, and throughout the fiscal year 1924-1925, the quota of each nationality provided in said act shall be as follows:


Afghanistan- 100

Albania- 100

Andorra- 100

Arabian peninsula (1, 2)- 100

Armenia- 124

Australia, including Papua, Tasmania, and all islands appertaining to Australia (3, 4)- 121

Austria- 785

Belgium (5)- 512

Bhutan- 100

Bulgaria- 100

Cameroon (proposed British mandate)- 100

Cameroon (French mandate)- 100

China- 100

Czechoslovakia- 3,073

Danzig, Free City of- 228

Denmark (5, 6)- 2,789

Egypt- 100

Estonia- 124

Ethiopia (Abyssinia)- 100

Finland- 170

France (1, 5, 6)- 3,954

Germany- 51,227

Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1, 3, 5, 6)- 34,007

Greece- 100

Hungary- 473

Iceland- 100

India (3)- 100

Iraq (Mesopotamia)- 100

Irish Free State (3)- 28,567

Italy, including Rhodes, Dodecanesia, and Castellorizzo (5)- 3,845

Japan- 100


Liberia- 100

Liechtenstein- 100

Lithuania- 344

Luxemburg- 100

Monaco- 100

Morocco (French and Spanish Zones and Tangier)- 100

Muscat (Oman)- 100

Nauru (proposed British mandate) (4)- 100

Nepal- 100

Netherlands (1, 5, 6)- 1648

New Zealand (including appertaining islands (3, 4)- 100

Norway (5)- 6,453

New Guinea, and other Pacific Islands under proposed Australian mandate (4)- 100

Palestine (with Trans-Jordan, proposed British mandate)- 100

Persia (1)- 100

Poland- 5,982

Portugal (1, 5)- 503

Ruanda and Urundi (Belgium mandate)- 100

Rumania- 603

Russia, European and Asiatic (1)- 2,248

Samoa, Western (4) (proposed mandate of New Zealand)- 100

San Marino- 100

Siam- 100

South Africa, Union of (3)- 100

South West Africa (proposed mandate of Union of South Africa)- 100

Spain (5)- 131

Sweden- 9,561

Switzerland- 2,081

Syria and The Lebanon (French mandate)- 100

Tanganyika (proposed British mandate)- 100

Togoland (proposed British mandate)- 100

Togoland (French mandate)- 100

Turkey- 100

Yap and other Pacific islands (under Japanese mandate) (4)- 100

Yugoslavia- 671
GENERAL NOTE.-The immigration quotas assigned to the various countries and quota-areas should not be regarded as having any political significance whatever, or as involving recognition of new governments, or of new boundaries, or of transfers of territory except as the United States Government has already made such recognition in a formal and official manner. . . . Calvin Coolidge.

Civics Online